Making Shebbakiah in Tangier: Because during Ramadan, everything is zero calories

DSC_5328

About a month after finishing my year in Ifrane, I returned to Morocco for a Critical Languages Scholarship in Tangier. Dear readers, it is such an experience: I’m living with an impossibly wonderful host family and roommate now, and speaking Arabic all the time. I’m also taking part in an almost brutally intensive language program. Free time is therefore spent studying, talking to the family and, because of the recent Ramadan holiday (Eid Mubarak, dear readers!), eating.

So much.

You guys, it’s become a bit of a war. The other week, after almost making my stomach explode with watermelon and other things he convinced me to eat too much of, my host father threw a bonbon bomb at me. One computer casualty, the result of a fall from my lap, but, Alhamdulillah, no fatalities.

Around that time, my host mother decided to make shebbakiah, a fried dough cookie dipped in honey and covered in sesame seeds. Here are some visuals (mostly taken by my host father, who is a photojournalist), as well as a recipe:

DSC_5263

DSC_5270

DSC_5279

DSC_5284

DSC_5291

DSC_5296DSC_5297DSC_5300DSC_5302DSC_5317DSC_5321DSC_5325DSC_5330

And, to prove to Tim and my parents that, yes, I was there, here’s me pretending to work:

DSC_5273

Eid Mubarak!

Leave a Reply

